Treasurer’s Office Streamlining Address Change Requests

Hazel Digital Media Admin - Tuesday, June 30, 2015

To help ensure that taxpayers receive tax bills as timely and efficiently as possible, the Beaufort County Treasurer's Office will assume the responsibility of processing all requests to change mailing addresses for taxpayers starting May 1, 2015. Such requests had previously rested with the County Assessor’s and Auditor’s Offices. The County hopes the shift will make this process more convenient for taxpayers, while helping to avoid unnecessary penalties and reducing costs associated with remailing tax bills. “The Treasurer’s Office has noticed a significant increase in the volume of tax bills returned lately. We want to remind taxpayers of the importance in keeping their mailing address current with the County. Failure to receive a tax bill does not affect the validity of the tax, penalty or interest due, the delinquency date, existence of a tax lien, or any procedure a taxing unit institutes to collect the tax,” said Deputy Treasurer and Treasurer-Elect Maria Walls.

Taxpayers must maintain a current mailing address for all parcels and personal property they own. If their current mailing address is different from the address listed on a tax bill or they have recently moved, they are responsible for providing a change of address to the County to ensure future tax bills are mailed to them at the correct address.

To help simplify this process, the County has developed a new, online form for change of address requests. Only listed owners or agents of a property may request address changes and will need to be prepared to provide photo identification. Requests may also be made in person at any of the Treasurer's Office locations, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.:
Beaufort (main office) - 100 Ribaut Road, Suite 165
Bluffton (satellite office) - 4819 Bluffton Parkway
Hilton Head Island (satellite office) - 539 William Hilton Parkway
Individuals needing to change the address for a motor vehicle registration should contact the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV).

© Beaufort County Treasurer/Website by Hazel Digital Media